Winter Denial: A Tale of Dry Lips and Disappointment

dr-_lipp_miracle_balm_pd_900x900I was excited when I opened my February Birchbox beyond thrilled to try out the Dr. Lip Miracle Balm. February’s Birchbox focused on lips, which of course is the only type of makeup I’m truly excited about or decently versed in aside from my experience in stage makeup in high school. This Miracle Balm came in an adorable hot pink tube with a cute and curly font.

The balm came in a delicate pink 3 ml tube. The tube is made from a sturdy plastic that makes it difficult to get out. Once it comes out, the angled applicator assists in adding the somewhat glossy balm onto your lips.

The balm is translucent and easy to rub into your lips. It adds a slight shine to your lips that goes away after probably about thirty minutes without eating or drinking anything. It doesn’t have a smell or a taste which is helpful if you have allergies to any kinds of scents or don’t want to spend your day brutally aware that you’re wearing something that is supposed to be hydrating your lips in the cold months of winter.

My sample wasn’t bad. Upon applying the lip balm, it felt like a typical lip balm with a somewhat moisturizing feeling on the lips. It was easy to cover my lips quickly, and even easier to get on with my night of procrastination. Unfortunately, as the night progressed after applying the lip balm, my lips began to dry and soon felt like thin pieces of beef jerky sitting on my face. It honestly felt worse than the dryness I feel on my lips when I put on a face mask in my moments of self care.

So, if you’re looking for a cheap way to hydrate your lips, other parts of your skin, or tame your eyebrows you should probably spend time looking elsewhere, like at your local drugstore… or grab a Carmex tube during your next trip to the grocery store for $1.50. However, if you’re looking for something that smells less intense than that and is hard to get out of the tube then you’ll probably be relatively happy spending the $16.50 for a 15 ml tube of Dr. Lipp Miracle Balm.

If you want to invest in a lip balm, I’d suggest choosing a Burt’s Bees lip balm instead. It is hydrating and can smell how your choose. It’s also approximately $2.00 for a tube and will leave you feeling moisturized and satisfied for the rest of the day.

Dr. Lip Miracle Balm rating: 2 out of 5

Carmex rating: 4 out of 5

Burt’s Bees rating: 5 out of 5

More information or to purchase Dr. Lip Miracle Balm go to: https://www.birchbox.com/shop/dr-lipp-miracle-balm

Leave a Reply

